Quilting for Oso

On March 22nd, a mudslide devastated a small community in Washington. For various reasons, this incident has captured my attention. With now 30 confirmed dead and 13 still missing, there is so much hurt in the community.  I first heard about the incident from another quilter as four of the victims are related to a Houston quilter.  Much like many other disasters, the quilting community is showing support by making and sending quilts to the affected area.  Layers of Hope – Quilting 911 is collecting and coordinating the distribution of quilts for Oso/Darrington.

Image

 

Today, I opened up a pack of 13 fat quarters that has sat in my bin for over a year. The kids had nixed me using it for them and no other use had come up. It was just right for making a charity quilt. Using a quick strip pattern, I was able to make up the quilt top today. My hope is to quilt and bind this tomorrow so I can get it in the mail this week.

I really like how this came out.

Image,

And this is the third SEWjo Saturday I have been able to participate in.

2 thoughts on “Quilting for Oso

Leave a Reply

