Stop me before….

Despite already being committed to two sewalongs, I am joining a third. Amy Smart will be hosting a Churn Dash sewalong at We All Sew.  I am only taking this project on so I can finish up the Camping UFO quilt I have. The churn dashes will be a perfect way to use up the prints I have and create a fun border for the panel I have.

8504858152_9b367ff179_z

 

I had been struggling with how to frame the panel yet now realize I have a good combo of light/dark tones to get a fun churn dash series going. Despite knowing I have too many projects in the pipeline, I am excited about this.

 

One of the LQS by my house also announced their second fat quarter contest. I participated in their first which required us to use a couple fat quarters from Windham Fabric’s Downtown series. I opted to convert a friend’s very popular photo of our local skyline into a mini quilt.

DSC_0010

It was one of those projects that kind of worked but didn’t quite meet the inner expectations. This now sits in a bin as I try to figure out what to do with it. I loved the print I used on the back

DSC_0011

As a participant in the first contest, I get the fat quarters for this second round for free. This round we are required to use Little Azaleas from FreeSpirit. Not really sure what I will make with the prints but who turns down free fabric, especially when you are on a buying fast!

Oh and tonight is guild meeting featuring Natalia Bonner from Piece n Quilt. Looking for to the trunk show and then the workshop on Saturday! I bet this week’s SEWjo will feature my FMQ practice squares…..

 

Happy sewing!

Melissa

 

 

Leave a Reply

