Pilgrim Roy and Shelburne too!

IMAG4969

Besides my mom’s retirement, one of the driving forces over the timing of our visit was for me to go to the Museum of Fine Arts to see the Quilts and Colors exhibit. The exhibit featured quilts from the expansive and amazing collection of Pilgrim & Roy. My quick review would be “I wish I lived closer so I could go again and again.” Truly worth stopping at.

As long as there was no flash, we could take pictures! I used my cell phone so please excuse the quality, but these are some of our favorites!

This was Birdie’s favorite. The family that had owned this considered it ugly and stored it!

IMAG4967

 

Mom and I were amazed by the workmanship of this one.

IMAG4970

 

I am finding myself drawn to these color combinations. Not something I would grab but love how they work. I may have to do something in these colors.

IMAG4973

 

I am an unabashed hexie girl so there was no question this was my favorite.

IMAG4977

 

I was so happy to spend the day in Boston and see quilts my mom and daughter.

On our way home, my husband and I stopped in Shelburne, VT to check out the Shelburne Museum. The museum opened at 10am and by 10:05, I had walked the quarter mile to the quilts! My cellphone could not capture these quilts as they were under glass.  But if you are ever in Vermont, you need to go to the Shelburne!

I picked up their collection book, a story book for Birdie and then because I could two patterns I was drawn to and two fat quarter bundles. The fabrics are a circus theme and coordinates. I look forward to making something from these.

20140627_152105

I missed their newest quilt exhibit of stars by being one day early. So if anyone goes, please tell me how it was!

Now that I have explored the quilt exhibits, I am ready to start sewing!

 

Leave a Reply

